How Early It Was  (dearest mother)

How you left me so very early, before I knew enough to help myself
So, we carry on. We carry forward with loss along with that love
That love that determines how we will love others
I cant go back, but I cannot leave you either
We carry on
Carry forward with loss

How early it was to wake, and to be whispered it’s over
How early it was in so many ways

Trust loves what we do not yet know
Binds the blinded with faith
Carries us forward without ever leaving that place
Where we nurtured love
Where our youth spoke no words like this
Before we had a chance to say goodbye
We learned how hard we would become

A man learning to love without you next to me
A man hurting to have a voice

When I was young my voice was effervescent
It would ring and smiles would fill the room
How innocent we were
How innocent I made you
How innocence loved us

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

