To my three guardian angels,

I’m in a Nairobi hospital waiting to be released in the next day or two. I’ve been thinking about everything that’s happened since the day our paths crossed in Harrar to get some perspective. My memory is poor as it’s been overwhelming and a very difficult few weeks, but I wanted to thank you for all your help.

If I was alone on that terrible bus ride and later  in that Awash hotel room where the malaria took ahold of my body I would have just said to myself I’ll stay there until I feel better. I didn’t realize how sick I was.

Even when we arrived in Addis and you were trying to find the clinic I was going to say I was in too much pain and too weak and just wanted to lay in a bed and maybe go to a hospital the next day. But the three of you pushed on and took me to the clinic that afternoon.

If I had arrived at the clinic a day later the doctor said it’s likely I wouldn’t have made it through. The second night I almost passed away as my breathing became too shallow and difficult. The day after the doctor said he didn’t think  I was going to make it through the night.

Maybe you know, but eventually I was emergency air evacuated to Kenya. Once I arrived I was rushed to ICU and put on dialysis for many days. I had kidney failure as well as other serious complications.

I’m still weak and just walking a few meters is tiring but the doctors said I’ve made it through and I’ll be ok without any long term health problems. I just need to build my strength again over the next few months and take time off work until December.

I want to thank the three of you from the bottom of my heart. Maybe it was just chance that our paths crossed but if it wasn’t for your decency and kindness I wouldn’t be here today. You litterally saved my life. I’ll never forget you.

Much love and gratitude
Mark

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

