As She Would Have Hoped

I awoke from sleep one afternoon
What now seems so long ago
To see an unwraped gift
And a tiny envelope
Placed on top

Her handwriting spelling my name
Written as she loved me
Uninterrupted to this day
I opened to read
In blue and white
An apple a day keeps the doctor away

She was ill
With what seemed like a long hard road to go
But we lived with it before
Since I was nine
Since she was forty
Yet this time it was for good

Half asleep I read her small note
Written for no occasion
Just to say
How much
She loved me

And all these years later
Without her here
My age has changed
My memories are faded
And failing

Yet the handwriting lingers
Her life and affection
And the love between
Mothers and Sons

You can feel love and affection
From so many years ago

Her handwriting lingers
In my life now
As she would of hoped

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Mark,

Appropriate saying on the front of this card!
Just to tell you how much I love you.
You are a very caring and loving person.
I am so proud of you!

Love you now
and
always,

Mum

xxxxxxx

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

